A rich history for an iconic location 

 
410 Wall Store & Residence BB.jpg
 
 

In 1947, a small general store was built just outside the humble Byron Bay township on Bangalow Road. Know by the locals as Walls Store, it sold groceries and general goods. 

"The shop was a meeting place for a number of very local identities who would take up the few chairs in the shop, and spend time discussing local gossip and general chitchat”. –  Byron Historical society

Walls Store thrived in the community until it was sold in 1980 but remained a general store under different ownership. The iconic shop has had many different names, owners and identities since such as Greys Store, Craig’s Store and the more recent Macs Milk Bar. The building has been extended and renovated many times but never been knocked down - the original structure still remains.